Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – June 2014

IMG_3362

Well, it all happens in June.  In addition to an my wedding anniversary last week, this week I had a big birthday, and to cheer myself up I requested a macro lens as my present.  And what a toy!  My first foray into the world of macro photography was Wordless Wednesday’s Allium Hair, and today I’ve had great fun getting up close and personal with my June blooms.

In the interests of keeping this to a manageable length, I’ve decided this month’s edit should only include either plants I’ve grown from seed, or blooms bearing a ‘bug’.  So I’ve started with my beautiful, soft pink Astrantia Roma, together with visiting bee.

Next my sweet peas.  I’m growing more and more each year, and this year they’re all along the back of the Swing Beds, in pots by the front door and in the veg plot.  I’m really only interested in flowers with scent, and this year chose MatucanaIMG_3391

Lord NelsonIMG_3377

Prince Edward of YorkIMG_3320 - Copy

Mrs CollierIMG_3340 - Copy

As well as four more from mixes from English Sweet Peas – ‘Fresh Air Mix‘ and ‘Parfumiere Mix‘.  Unfortunately I don’t know the names of the individual varietiesIMG_3342 - Copy

IMG_3339 - Copy

IMG_3348

IMG_3364

As well as sweet peas, I’m growing a lot of other annuals for cutting, including Cosmos Rubenza (a little short for cutting but I love the slightly smoky pink)IMG_3338 - Copy

PurityIMG_3332 - Copy

DazzlerIMG_3365

and Click Cranberries.IMG_3366

A couple of ‘greens’, Molucella laevis and Amaranthus caudatus ‘Viridis’

A couple of oranges, Helianthus ClaretIMG_3386

and Calendula Bronze BeautyIMG_3379 (3)

and a couple sown last year – Digitalis Camelot CreamIMG_3369

and Knautia macedonica

IMG_3357 (2)

And to finish, another bug.  I think this is the caterpillar of the Rusty Tussock Moth, Orgyia antiqua, chewing a hole in my rose bud.  Sigh.IMG_3309 (3)

With thanks again to Carol at May Dreams Gardens for hosting the GBBD meme.

 

14 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – June 2014

  1. Chloris

    A belated happy birthday Jenny. I am bowled over by the quality of your photos. Wow! Really impressive. The shot of Calendula Bronze Beauty is dreamy. You have grown so many lovely flowers for cutting. What a good idea.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Chloris – the Calendula was definitely one of my favourites. The lens is such fun – there is no zoom at all so you just have to move yourself!

      Reply
      1. jenhumm116 Post author

        Hi Chloris, the camera is a Canon EOS 60D, bought just over a year ago, and the new lens a Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens.

  2. garden337

    Lovely pictures. I, too, love my macro lens. That’s wonderful picture of the caterpillar on the rose.

    Reply
  3. AnnetteM

    Happy Birthday Jenny! I also got a macro lens from my children for my last big birthday back in January. They are great to use and you have already got some lovely photos. That caterpillar is stunning isn’t he – why is it that the most interesting caterpillars always seem to be moths rather than butterflies? (I am sure someone is going to correct me here!). Anyway we look forward to more macro shots…..

    Reply
  4. Nell Jean

    Maybe next fall I’ll plant sweet peas again. I thought I was over my sweet pea craze, but maybe not, after seeing your beautiful photos.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Annual round up | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

