Return to the Duver – late May 2014

IMG_2474

Since my last Duver post there have been great floral developments on the Duver.

Firstly, the foxgloves (Digitalis purpurea), which I worried might have been depleted by some over enthusiastic council clearing, seem to be back in full strength.  The seeds can germinate decades after dispersal (much like poppies), so if this year had been disappointing, I suppose all would not have been lost.

I love the density of flowers – my foxgloves, grown from seed, cossetted at every step of the way and protected from council ‘enthusiasm,’ are nothing like as impressive.  Nature eh?

IMG_2454

IMG_2452Also, behind the foxgloves in the first picture is a magnificent Tree Lupin (Lupinus Arboreus). Apparently lupins were brought to the UK by the Romans who used them as food for themselves and their animals, but also ploughed them back into the soil as green manure.

The Isle of Wight is known as a Roman settlement (there is a fabulous Roman Villla not far away at Brading), so amazing to think there may have been lupins here for 2000 years.

There are a number of tree lupins in this area and this one, in a much more shady position, will clearly be flowering later than the one above.

IMG_2455

On a sandy spit which protrudes south into the mouth of the Bembridge Harbour is a magnificent colony of Evening Primrose (Oenothera biennis).   I love the way the colours differ on the same plant, depending on the age of the the individual flower.

IMG_2467IMG_2479

On the same sandy spit is a beautiful small clump of Bladder Campion (Silene vulgaris) . According to Sarah Raven it’s ‘edible and said to taste like peas – the young shoots are good in a spring salad or as quickly wilted greens’.  However, as the clump is not very big I will leave them well alone.

IMG_2460 (2)

IMG_2462

Meanwhile, the beautiful Thrift continues to flower.

IMG_2488

Post script   I’ve been alerted by Chloris from The Blooming Garden, to ‘Wildflower Wednesday’ and, although this was posted on Monday, I’ve decided to join in.  I also think I might try to coordinate my future ‘Duver’ blogs with Wildflower Wednesday in the future.

With many thanks to Gail, who hosts Wildflower Wednesday from Clay and Limestone in Tennessee.

 

6 thoughts on “Return to the Duver – late May 2014

  1. AnnetteM

    I love your wildflower posts – reminds me of my childhood which was spent roaming around the seashore and fields at Langstone (Havant) just the other side of the Solent.

    Reply
    1. Chloris

      A lovely post, Jenny , you are clearly a wild flower enthusiast like me. Why don’ t you join in with the wildflower meme on the fourth Wednesday of each month over at clay and limestone blog?
      Sarah Raven eats the lovely Bladder Champion does she? Perhaps she should keep quiet about it. I can’ t understand why she would want to eat such a beautiful thing.

      Reply
  2. jenhumm116 Post author

    Thanks Chloris, that’s a good idea. My Duver blogs tend to be a bit random as to when the sun’s shining or something interesting’s come into bloom!

    And I agree, I’d far rather look at that (Champion!) Campion than eat it.

    Reply
  3. Hannah

    Your lovely wildflowers resemble some found here, or maybe some of them came over on ships, so they are very familiar. My mother had Bladder Campion at her house, and I had some Evening Primrose even volunteer at my house. Foxgloves occasionally will grow in my yard spontaneously, but I don’t think they are actually native here. The seeds do seem to lie dormant a long time.

    Reply
  4. Shirley

    Your wildflowers are lovely and it’s nice to see they have managed to escape the enthusiasm of your Council to keep things tidy. Very encouraging as we have had a bad weather year for poppies so I’m thinking I will possibly see them when conditions are better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

