In a vase on Monday – the debut of the little black vase

IMG_2608

Today’s ‘little black vase’, made by the British firm Wedgwood, was inherited from my mother, Mary.   She would often have it filled with home grown flowers in her entrance hall, so I thought I keep up the tradition.

IMG_2614 (2)

This week’s vase has Gladiolus byzantinus, (which I picked as they had been knocked over by the recent wind and rain) and Red Valerian, Centranthus rubra, which is growing like a weed at the moment, (indeed some would call it a weed!)  Sadly the flash has bleached the colour in the ‘vase’ shots, but hopefully this close up gives you an idea of true intensity of colour.IMG_2609

I combined the pinks with fennel and the fabulous, glaucous Melianthus major foliage.IMG_2610

With thanks again to Rambling in the Garden for hosting this meme – and getting me out in the rain to pick flowers!

 

11 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – the debut of the little black vase

  1. Cathy

    The black sets the pinks of perfectly, doesn’t it? How tall is the vase? I couldn’t quite work it out, but I am sure you will be using it again. I know what you mean about the valerian – I introduced it to a previous garden and soon regretted it! It’s a good idea to use broken or damaged stems in the vase – the allium was bent right over as were some of the Superbum, so at least we can recycle them that way 😉 Is your G byzantinus quite reliable? It’s a gorgeous colour and I will add some to my bulb order if it is. Thank you so much for joining in

    Reply
  2. pbmgarden

    Beautiful arrangement and all the more special for the heirloom container your mother had used. The Gladiolus byzantinus is gorgeous. I tried it once but it didn’t get established–now I think I must try again. Susie

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Susie. I think this meme will be good for making me do more arrangements – not just when people are coming.

      And yes, lovely to see the black Wedgwood flower filled once more!

      Reply
  3. jenhumm116 Post author

    Hi Cathy, the vase is just about 6 inches tall and the G Byzantinus was already here when we moved in nearly six years ago. Apparently the previous owner didnt like them and would pull them out! I think more have popped up this year than last, despite no attention whatsoever. I have to confess I bought some extra bulbs to increase the number last year but they never got planted…..

    Reply
  4. Chloris

    I love your black vase. My daughter has Gladiolus Byzantinus all over the garden. She is always pulling them up where they clash with other plants. I think they are lovely.
    They grow wild on the Scilly Isles and they call them Whistling Jacks down there.
    They go beautifully with the Valerian in your arrangement.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Chloris. I seem to have done the opposite – rather than pulling things out, I just seem to be designing all the planting to go with inherited pink flowers such as these gladioli and a number of roses. Where it all falls apart it when you start picking pink flowers to go in a not remotely pink house!

      Reply
  5. Kris P

    The vase is wonderful and it’s great that you’re using it as your mother would have. The bright pink sets it off very nicely. I laughed about your reference to Centranthus as a weed – it’s the same for me here in Southern California.

    Reply
  6. Janet/Plantaliscious

    How lovely to follow your Mum’s tradition, the vase works perfectly with those vivid pink blooms. I really like red valerian, it is nice to see it used in a vase rather than just cursed and thrown on the compost heap.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

