The good, the bad and the companionable

IMG_2238(This picture has nothing to do with the post, I just took it today and wanted to share!)

In April’s End of Month View, I said “At the moment the seedlings would easily fill a plot ten times this size, so some difficult decisions will need to be made (or I need to find more space somewhere…)“.

Amazingly, the ‘good’ is that a some extra space has been lent to me by my lovely neighbours, J&A.  The area is 3.4m x 2.5m and the soil is wonderfully weed free, just a little stony.

Sunday was planting day, and I strolled up the road with my wheelbarrow full of the first wave of planting:

IMG_2225

Some time (and a couple of rain showers) later, my little plot was full up with Helianthus ‘Claret’, Helianthus ‘Valentine’ (just one, the slugs got the rest), Cleome ‘Violet Queen’, Amaranthus Viridis, Cosmos ‘Dazzler’, Cosmos ‘Psyche White’, Ammi visnaga, Antirrhinum ‘White Giant’, Antirrhinum ‘Liberty Classic Crimson’, Rudbeckia ‘Cherry Brandy’ and Malope.

Not much to see – and I have to say some of the plants were looking a little shocked by the move, but hopefully they’ll settle in quickly.  I’m a bit concerned I’ve planted them too close together, but I expect you’ll understand when you read about the ‘bad’.

IMG_2235

So I’m afraid the ‘bad’ is very closely related.  Here’s the wheelbarrow I wheeled home.  Not exactly devoid of seedlings and I haven’t even mentioned the Molucella, Bupleurum, Nicotiana, Tithonia, Cerinthe, Calendula….  Where are they all going to go?

IMG_2229

But to finish, ‘the companionable’.  The plot is right next to J&A’s chicken run and the girls (and boy) did a lovely job of keeping me company with their clucking and cooing.  Shame this one seems to be suffering from an identity crisis.

IMG_2231 (2)

 

 

5 thoughts on “The good, the bad and the companionable

  1. AnnetteM

    Finding space is a real problem isn’t it, especially in the sun! We have gradually taken out trees and shrubs that had got far too big for their position to give us more space for a garden, so have a lot more planting space these days. The problem is that I still want more, but know in reality that I couldn’t really manage a bigger garden as there are still bits that I rarely get to!

    Reply
  2. jenhumm116 Post author

    Thanks Annette, and yes, I think the whole issue of space is an ongoing one for most of us. Always too little right up until we realise we’ve got too much!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – July 2014 | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

