Dilly dallying daffs

IMG_1964

I just thought I would give an airing to some lovely ‘dilly dallying daffs’ which are continuing to look fresh in my garden, despite this crazy, accelerated spring.

Firstly N. Sinopel above, in the Grass Bed.  This is the one which was expected to come out before the Spring Green tulips, and now, for the second year running, has come later.  The corona is not as green as I remember in the photos when I ordered, but there is definitely green at the ‘eye’ and I do love the overall look.  And they have come back well for the second year.

See them below with the Spring Greens:

IMG_1967

Secondly, the classic late daffodil, N. Old Pheasant’s Eye.  These have a similar shape to Sinopel, but are slightly larger.  They’re currently doing a good job of lighting up the shady bed.

IMG_1961 (2)

And laslty the troughs.  I planted masses of daffodils in the troughs this year, but did get a bit confused as I thought I’d ordered and planted Cornish Chuckle, but I think Bloms gave me Minnow.  Here they are weighed down by raindrops in early April.IMG_1605 

These have now been followed by N. SegoviaIMG_1975

I didn’t plant as many as the Minnows, but to be honest, I’d completely forgotten I’d planted a succession at all, so they came as a lovely surprise!

You can see in the troughs I’ve also got the white stock Matthiola Incana ‘Pillow Talk‘, which I grew from seed in 2012.  It smells absolutely fabulous.

Of course all these daffs in the troughs are very well, but I’m not looking forward to when they’ve finally finished flowering, and all I’ve got to admire are decaying leaves….

IMG_1976

 

2 thoughts on “Dilly dallying daffs

  1. AnnetteM

    Love your daffs – especially Old Pheasant’s Eye. Yes, I wish there was something to be done about all those dying daffodil leaves. I know we are supposed to leave them be until they are pretty dead, but I usually get fed up with them before that and end up folding them over with an elastic band! One year though I did get all artistic and plaited them. Took far too long though.
    That is what is good about my small pots of narcissus. I can just move them out of sight!

    Reply
  2. Chloris

    These late flowering daffs are my favourites. I love Pheasant’s ‘Eye, Segovia and Sinopel. They are so simple and elegant. The problem of dying foliage is a problem. I tend to grow them in grass in the orchard and then leave the area uncut until the ox-eye daisies and buttercups have finished.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

