Spring springs (or is sprung, depending on the year) at West Dean

Almost exactly a year ago I attended a course at the inspirational West Dean Gardens.  The event was a weekend course, ‘Dig your blog’ with Jane Perrone and Jacqui Hurst teaching a group how to (garden) blog.  And, although it took eight months and redundancy for me to actually post my first post, I would definitely say the foundation stones were laid a year ago at West Dean.

The photos above and below were taken during that course.
Pastoral 2

By sheer coincidence I was back at West Dean yesterday and the difference in plant progress from last year to this is astonishing.  The fruit trees are in leaf, (and some in bloom),

IMG_1835

the peonies which last year were just shoots, are now in bud,

and many tulips are out.

IMG_1900 (2)

And yet there was a chill in the air and a rather cruel breeze whistling round my (ill judged) bare ankles, making an in depth investigation of the thirteen (thirteen!) glasshouses rather more appealing than the 2 1/2 mile Parkland Walk.

And what a show!  I’ve been to West Dean at least half a dozen times over the years but I’ve never spent much time in the glasshouses, but just look:

Acres of Auriculas,

IMG_1875

populous pots,

IMG_1863

(Echeveria Runyonii ‘Topsy Turvey’, Crassula nealeana, and Echeveria shaviana)

legion lettuces (the size of dinner plates),

sumptuous strawbs

a fecund fig

and lastly, (in the glasshouses), Nepenthes x mixta x maxima, the Pitcher Plant.  This was seriously maxima. According to Wiki answers, in addition to insects, they can also ‘eat’ mice.  I reckon this one would have given a rat a run for its money.

IMG_1887And then back outside to the 300 foot long pergola, designed by Harold Peto in 1911 and one of the longest in the country.

IMG_1944

 

IMG_1929

And finally, something which (in addition to everything above) sums up West Dean to me – a wonderful structure (flint wall), covered in an imaginatively trained and beautifully grown flowering currant (Ribes speciousum).  Now how many times have you seen that?

IMG_1948West Dean, near Chichester, has free entry for RHS members until the end of April.  Just go, you won’t regret it.

 

3 thoughts on “Spring springs (or is sprung, depending on the year) at West Dean

  1. AnnetteM

    It is already on my list of places to see. My parent used to live near Chichester and I can’t believe I never visited the gardens! Love that trained fuscia.

    Reply
  2. Chloris

    An amazing place and lovely tour of it. But it’s not a Fuschia, it’s a Ribes speciosum; in other words a Flowering Currant variety. I shall be showing one soon, I took a photo of mine today. Although I have to say, mine is not so beautifully trained.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

