Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – 15th April

IMG_1788

Like Annette at her Aberdeen Garden, it really is all about the tulips.  Above you can see Tulip Spring Green in the grass bed emerging from a froth of forget-me-nots.  I know some people are a bit sniffy about forget-me-nots but I pulled all mine out last year and then regretted it, so this year I’ve allowed them free rein, and they’ve really gone for it.  Anyway, I seem to recall Christopher Lloyd was a fan, so that’s good enough for me.

There’s also another white tulip in this bed, but it’s very early and has already come and gone.  Conversely, my Narcissi Sinopel, which I bought last year because I was intrigued by its slightly green trumpet, has only just come out – I thought it had gone blind.  However, like last year, the green really isn’t very obvious, and also (as mentioned in a previous post) it does tend to look towards the sun and therefore faces the road rather than the garden, leaving the colour of its trumpet a little academic!

IMG_1786

Three more tulips I bought last year are Apricot Foxx

IMG_1783

and Avignon, together with the species tulip Honky Tonk.  IMG_1754

These latter two are in a huge pot by the entrance steps, sitting just behind my Rosmarinus officinalis ‘Prostratus’ which just keeps on flowering.  The tulips were supposed to flower successionally, but this beautiful sunny weather has obviously accelerated the Avignons, well ahead of their supposed May flowering.  Sad to think they may well have come and gone by next month’s GBBD.

Another succession which hasn’t quite worked is the Angelique tulips in the pots by the greenhouse doors.  The Minnow Narcissi are still going strong, but the Angeliques are muscling their way in, strange behaviour for something so girly!

IMG_1798

The last tulip is the stunning Doll’s Minuet in a pot by the front door.  Still pink, but somehow not so girly:

IMG_1684

Other blooms to note include Lithospermum ‘Heavenly Blue’IMG_1815 (3)

my Clematis Montana (already!)IMG_1792

the Melianthus Major (this bloom is over six inches long!)IMG_1806 (2)

and to finish, the Wisteria (and Nimbus).

IMG_1757

With thanks to Carol at May Dreams Garden who hosts this meme on the 15th of every month.

 

5 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – 15th April

  1. Chloris

    Wonderful tulips. I adore the Viridiflora ones, specially Spring Green. But they are all gorgeous. I love them in pots.
    Your Wisteria is fabulous!

    Reply
  2. AnnetteM

    Great tulips! I love ‘Honky Tonk’ if only for the name. I suppose one advantage of growing narcissus, or anything else for that matter, in a pot it that when they turn to face the sun you can just turn the pot round and see their faces for a while anyway. Good to see the Lithospermum and Clematis Montana as mine are not out yet – should be soon though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

