My over-the-road oak, March

IMG_1306

Like Annette at My Aberdeen Garden with her Copper Beech, I’m (rather belatedly) joining  Lucy  at  LooseAndLeafy with her meme on ‘Follow  a Tree’.

The tree I’ve chosen isn’t actually in my garden, it’s over the road on the National Trust land in front of our house.  To the bottom of this photo you can see the sign for the footpath that runs down the hill to the Duver at the bottom, and on to the beach.

The oak is to the south of us and so, come Autumn, the prevailing winds ensure that 90% of all the leaves end up in our garden or on the drive.  Consequently we now have two leaf mould bins, which are overflowing.

Although this post is supposed to be just about the tree, I couldn’t help but add in the backdrop of Bembridge Harbour to give the tree some island context.

What would give some really special island context would be if I could ever capture a picture of one of the red squirrels in the oak.  They regularly run across the road, up into this tree and then jump from tree to tree to wherever their drey is situated, much further away from the road.  I’ve tried to photograph them once or twice, but boy do they move fast.

I look forward to sharing this tree with you over the coming months.

IMG_1310

3 thoughts on “My over-the-road oak, March

  1. Chloris

    It’s lovely to see your oak in it’s beautiful setting. What a wonderful place to live. You are so lucky to have red squirrels. I hope you manage to get a photo of one.

    Reply
  2. Lucy Corrander

    So glad you are joining us in following a tree!

    The oak is beautiful. Its name (My Over-the-road Oak) delightful. And the view (an important context!) tremendous. Looking forward to seeing a red squirrel. There are some on Brownsea Island too – where notices tell visitors red squirrels tend to be shy, quiet creatures who like dull light. We went on a blazing hot, brightly sunny day and came across one making an incredible noise rattling around inside a rubbish bin. Perhaps Isle of White squirrels are more decorous?

    Reply
  3. AnnetteM

    Red squirrels must be lovely. We are supposed to have them in our area too but I have never seen any here. We had a single grey squirrel in the garden all winter, but the other day I noticed two squirrels on the fence. Must be spring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

